UK Foreign Office sanctions Entire Iranian Morality Police

Published on: 25 January 2023

The UK Foreign Office has sanctioned the entire Iranian Morality Police, including:

Mohammad Rostami Cheshmeh Gachi (Head of the Morality Police)

Haj Ahmad Mirzaei (Head of the Tehran division of the Morality Police)

Related sanctions are imposed on the group below over their role in the violent crackdown on fuel-related protests in Iran in 2019:

Gholamreza Soleimani (Head of the Basij Organisation)

Hassan Karami (Commander of the NAJA (Police) Special Unit)

Hossein Ashtari (Commander-in-Chief of Iran’s Police Forces)

Leila Vaseghi (former Governor of Shahr-e Qods province)

Hassan Shahvarpour (commander of the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC) in Khuzestan province and Deputy of the South West Karbala Headquarters)

Whilst these are individuals, this may eventually extend to any financial/corporate interests they have in the UK and other sanction regimes.

TISCreport already offers UK and EU sanctions data on a #PayWhatYouCan basis to enable all organisations to play their part to help end the conflict in Ukraine, and the data extends to all sanctioned regimes including Iranian sanctioned entities. You find out more about our #PeaceCorp efforts here with our #Sanctify service.